School of Arts and Sciences

School of Arts and Sciences General Information

The School of Arts and Sciences is composed of four academic divisions: the Division of Communication, Language, and Literature, the Division of Music, the Division of Social and Behavioral Sciences, and the Division of Natural and Applied Sciences. Courses are offered at three levels: general education, academic major/minor, and graduate. Students who graduate from this school have both professional expertise and a liberal arts education. Instruction includes the traditional liberal arts, which date back to the Medieval University. This included the trivium (grammar, rhetoric, and logic) and the quadrivium (geometry, arithmetic, music, and astronomy). General Education Program courses are offered through all four of the academic divisions. Courses leading to academic majors in many fields are also offered through the School of Arts and Sciences as well as two graduate programs: Counseling and Medicine.

The School of Arts and Sciences is concerned with the humane dimensions of academic study. Course work offered in the School emphasizes imparting general knowledge as well as professional, vocational, or technical expertise. The School seeks to engender a broader understanding of life and faith facilitated by liberal arts in the context of the Christian faith. While students are prepared for graduate study or a career through instruction, the school's first concern is an educated person prepared for leadership and service.